Chaos, šŸƒšŸƒ, and Owning My Sh*t

From toxic wine culture to cannabis advocacyā€”itā€™s all happening

This summer has been a lot. When I first started this journey, my goal was simple: to create a podcast for women like meā€”those whoā€™ve struggled with postpartum anxiety, birth trauma, alcohol abuse, and the road to healing. I wanted to expose the science behind alcoholā€™s glamorization and show how unethical corporate behavior profits off a product that causes serious harm. At the same time, I wanted to highlight the healing power of cannabis, a plant with therapeutic properties thatā€™s being regulated for profit instead of for people.

Okay, maybe I aimed to do a little too much at once. But I thought a podcast would be the perfect way to reach everyone. Because, of course, everyone needed to hear what I had to say, right? Spoiler alert: itā€™s been quite the learning curve. I quickly realized that building a community and brand takes more than just good intentions. Itā€™s been tough, and there have been so many moments when I wanted to quit. But honestly, this mission has filled a space that used to be occupied by those 'mega pints' of red wine (Johnny Depp fans, you caught that one, right?).

This year has felt like a self-guided PhD in life. Iā€™ve learned so much about myself, and while it hasnā€™t been easy, Iā€™ve come to realize that Iā€™m pretty badass. A lot of the skills I developed in my past life are now shining through with purpose and passion, rather than just making someone else rich. But Iā€™ve also realized where I struggle. You can either deny your weaknesses or build a team with someone who excels in those areasā€”and thatā€™s what I did.

What started as "just a podcast" in January turned into something bigger by April, when I brought on a business partner. Britney is a total legend in her own right and the design strategist turning Mommy's New Medicine into Cali Sober Mom. Over the summer, weā€™ve been juggling life as moms (8 kids between us!), business owners, and creative minds to plan the future of Cali Sober Mom. Our goal? To make information fun, engaging, and accessible to women, all while fighting for consumer rights in the world of cannabis.

So, if youā€™ve ever wondered why I say "we," itā€™s because Britney is right there with me behind the scenes. I canā€™t wait to share more about her story next week, so stay tuned! And donā€™t forget to subscribe to the podcastā€”Season 2 is dropping at the end of September!

-Monica

ā€œDo your in-laws or family members have a stigma or judgment towards your choices?ā€

Absolutely. In many families, weā€™re often expected to conform to avoid judgment or feeling like an outsider, which can be tough. For me, social anxiety played a huge role in my alcohol consumption, and as I began to understand myself more, I realized I didnā€™t fit the mold that others expected. None of us do, really, and thatā€™s the beauty of being uniqueā€”even if society pressures us to conform.

Yes, my family and in-laws have held judgment toward my choices, particularly early on. The most painful part is often the silenceā€”when someone who used to support everything you did suddenly goes quiet as you start speaking out about your journey. Silence can be a form of judgment too, and it cuts deep.

But how do I deal with it? It comes down to personal growth. Iā€™ve spent a lot of time in therapy, working on myself, and learning that judgment from others is often more about their own insecurities. We all have things that donā€™t fit perfectly in society, and itā€™s easier to judge than to look inward. By healing myself, Iā€™ve built a sense of security that protects me from the hurt of their judgment. Iā€™ve come to realize that their criticism is about them, not me.

One of the most powerful things my therapist told me was, "Keep sharing your truth and you will find your people." At first, I didnā€™t understand it, but the more I became comfortable in my own skin and my own voice, I started meeting incredible peopleā€”ones I never would have connected with otherwise. The people who truly love me, theyā€™re still here, even if they donā€™t fully understand me yet. You will find your people and your peace, I promise.

(P.S. Do you have a question youā€™d like answered here? Reply to this email, and weā€™ll include it in a future edition!)

What Weā€™re Drinking: Crescent Canna Sour Watermelon

This week, I thought it would be fun to revisit a favorite drink that Iā€™ve enjoyed all summer longā€”Crescent Canna Sour Watermelon. But instead of just telling you how much I love it, Iā€™m sharing something a little different: a video review I did back in March. Itā€™s one of my very first videos, and looking back, itā€™s hard not to smile at how much has changed.

You see, when I first started out, I was literally filming reviews in my closet. Yup, three kids, chaos everywhere, chili on the floor, and my husband graciously stepping in to give me a few minutes of peace. So, I took the opportunity to sneak away with my drink and do a quick YouTube review. I had no idea what I was doing, but one thing was for sureā€”I wasnā€™t going to turn down a delicious THC beverage, and I was determined to make the moment fun.

So, hereā€™s a little trip down memory lane with my original review from six months ago. Itā€™s funny to see how far Iā€™ve come since then, but Iā€™m still all about finding ways to enjoy great drinks and share them with youā€”closet, chaos, and all!

What Should I Review Next?

Is there a product youā€™re curious about but not quite ready to try? Iā€™ve got you covered!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Shooting Star Logo GIF

Giphy - The More You Know

Education Spotlight: Unmasking the Truthā€”The Hidden Dangers of Mommy Wine Culture

In our culture, the idea that a glass of wine is the perfect way for moms to unwind has been so normalized, it's practically a rite of passage. But behind the catchy memes and wine glasses labeled "mommy's juice" lies a much darker truthā€”Mommy Wine Culture is harming us more than helping us.

Alcohol is often presented as a stress-reliever, but the reality is quite the opposite. Itā€™s a depressant that can increase anxiety, disrupt sleep, and even lead to dependency. Studies from reputable sources like the Mayo Clinic confirm that alcohol negatively affects both the mind and body. Similarly, the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) highlights how alcohol consumption can actually increase anxiety over time, rather than ease it.

One of the lesser-known impacts is on sleep. According to the Sleep Foundation, alcohol can disrupt your sleep cycles, leading to poorer rest and furthering the cycle of stress and exhaustion. Even more alarming is the connection between alcohol and cancer. The American Cancer Society reports that alcohol consumption is linked to an increased risk of several types of cancer, including breast cancer, liver cancer, and colorectal cancer. This is crucial information, especially for women who are often targeted by "wine mom" culture.

As the World Health Organization points out in their report on Alcohol Consumption and Health, alcohol dependency often creeps up silently, turning what was once "mommy's juice" into something more dangerous.

Itā€™s time to unmask the truth and reclaim our wellness. By recognizing the real impact of alcoholā€”including the very real risk of cancerā€”and shifting away from these harmful narratives, we can embrace healthier habitsā€”whether itā€™s through mocktails, cannabis, or simply being present without relying on a drink to get through the day.

For more on this topic and the science behind it, check out the full blog post here.

Products with a Purpose: Majical Ice Teaz by Jim Belushi

Advocacy and education are only meaningful when thereā€™s purpose behind themā€”and thatā€™s why seeing Jim Belushiā€™s Majical Ice Teaz partnership with Realm of Caring pop up on my LinkedIn feed felt so timely. Itā€™s stories like these that show how, when we support brands with missions beyond profit, we can truly make an impact.

Of course, businesses need to profitā€”by all means, go do your thing! But when a company partners with an organization like Realm of Caring, which has spent millions of minutes helping families navigate cannabis and given back millions in support, itā€™s more than just business. Itā€™s about purpose and people.

I absolutely cannot wait to try these when they come out this Fall. Sign me up for a Raspberry Calmer and an Italian Beef!

ā

If you donā€™t like me but watch everything I do. B*tch, youā€™re a fan!

-Madonna

Healing Out Loud - so others donā€™t have to

First Time Holding Twins

Why would I share my most vulnerable moments with complete strangers on the Internet?

Because when I do, the messages flood in. Women tell me how complicated and traumatic their deliveries were, how they turned to alcohol and regretted it, how they felt utterly alone with no one to talk to.

This story matters because itā€™s more common than we give it credit for, and itā€™s time we stop hiding in silence.

Iā€™m sharing a picture of me holding my twins for the first timeā€”a moment I canā€™t even remember. But sharing these raw, real moments isnā€™t for meā€”itā€™s for you. Itā€™s for the women who feel theyā€™re navigating this pain alone. If I can help just one person feel seen, understood, and realize that thereā€™s nothing wrong with them, but rather the systems designed to keep us quietā€”then itā€™s all worth it.

I invite you to read more about my journey in this article on Fat Nugs Magazine Healing Through Cannabis: One Womanā€™s Journey to Sobriety and Empowerment.

If you have a story to share, whether anonymously or loud and proud, Iā€™m here to help bring it forward. Together, we can rewrite the narrative.

(P.S. Do you have a story youā€™d like to share? Reply to this email, and weā€™ll include it in a future edition!)